Pilonidal Cyst – You Don’t Want One of These!!

I don’t know how many of you out there in Internet land know what the hell a pilonidal cyst is, and if you don’t, consider yourself EXTREMELY LUCKY!

A pilonidal cyst is kind of like a boil (a real painful one) that grows on your ass. YES!, You read correctly… your ass!

Here’s for some more reading on the disease:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pilonidal_cyst

I’ve had mine for going on 7 years now after I had my second child. I’ve had it lanced and drained 3 times in those years and it still keeps coming back.

I’m feeling another flare up coming on, so I thought I’d write about it here because

1) It affects me, and

2) it has a lot to do with weight loss in general.

Over weight people tend to get this disease more than others. It’s probably because heavier people don’t move around as much and sit more than most people i suppose.

It’s supposed to primarily affect males rather than females. Just my luck I guess. I feel like I’m the only female that this weird kind of stuff happens to. (Why can’t I just be normal like everyone else?)

Anyway, if you ever get a pilonidal cyst, your pretty much stuck with it until your 40’s or something like that from what i understand. I still got a few several years to go :-)

I do try certain things to help with the pain, like my heating pad. Heat seems to help with the inflamation and pain to a certain degree.

I don’t move as quickly when I’m out and about, especially when I’m getting in and out of the car.

My husband bought me a seat cushion that helps me sit down. It’s got like a gel material inside and a hollow area where the cyst would normally be so I don’ sit on it.

I keep it as clean as possible and avoid as much pressure to it as I can.

Other than that, I’m pretty much at its mercy. It comes and goes when it wants to. It feels like I’m headed for another 2 weeeks or so of non-stop pain.

My doctor has recommended a modified Karidakis procedure which he says will completely get rid of it. It’s supposed to have a high success rate, but I’m a little nervous about having surgery right now. I don’t have time for the recovery with 2 little girls to look after.

I’m open for suggestions if any of you have ever dealt with one of these things. Post comments below of what you use on your cyst or how you cope with the pain. Anything would greatly help!!

Thanks.

- Joan

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tommy
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 08:13:11

    Never heard of it before but I just got done checking some pictures on Google and I about near threw up. thanks a lot Joan. You could of gave us a heads up first :-)

    Reply

  2. OUCH
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:15:19

    Wow, talk about perfect timing. I was just researching up on this disease and joan is right, it absolutely sucks ass. I cant move hardly and my mom wont be home till 9 tonite and I have no one to help me. I have been using the heat pad but as soon as you take it off it starts hurting again. what should I do. Please help me Im only 15 years old.

    Reply

    • Joan
      Nov 11, 2010 @ 16:07:26

      Sorry to hear that OUCH (if that is your real name ;-)) Try a hot bath if the pain comes right back after using the heat wrap. Also, you may have to have it lanced like I did. See your doctor right away before it gets worse.

      Best of Luck!

      Reply

    • Ghassan Moss
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 23:34:37

      Try tea tree oil or garlic. those help a bunch with pain management.

      Reply

    • lexi
      Jul 28, 2013 @ 03:06:15

      I know It suchs. Im only 15 too and I really wnt it to go away. plus my mom doesnt have that much money so I dont want her to have to take me to get it removed

      Reply

  3. roseanne
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 17:13:12

    Isnt that the same thing Rush Limbaugh had once and he used that as an excuse to skip the military? LOL

    Rush limbauh is a pain in the ass so i guess it would be fitting for him to have a pilonidal cyst. hahahahahaha!!!

    Reply

  4. Forex Money Machine
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 10:16:38

    Try Michael Lynch’s treatment. He’s well known in the “Pilonidal cyst community” for having a very good home treatment for pilonidal cysts. look him up.

    Reply

  5. Claud
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 14:11:14

    I hope you find a way to cure it Joan, I hear that pilonidal cysts can be really painful if it goes on for too long. I expect that it must be very stressful and I really wich you well.

    Reply

  6. Farooq
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 23:02:50

    good luck joan. unfortunately i dont know how to get rid of pilonidalcyst but i really hope you find a way because i can image how horrible it would be to always have one of those things on your bum.

    Reply

  7. Glen Ramos
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 12:29:24

    Joan, I recommend that you get yourself a copy of a product called Pilonidal Cyst Relief. You can get it at pilonidalcystrelief.com.

    Like you I also suffered from pilonidal cyst for 5 years! I even had the surgery done. Surgery helped a bit but not really. But I got myself a copy of pilnidal cyst releif and read through it, It’s quite good and it helps you identify the cause of your pilonidal and the type of cyst you have.

    After you have identified what type you have it then tells you how to cure it.

    Well I must say that it works because my cyst is completely gone.

    Reply

    • Joan
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 09:32:00

      Thanks glenn ill look into it. :-)

      Reply

    • Joan
      Nov 13, 2010 @ 19:09:13

      Okay I visted his site and it looked good, but i dont really like sales letters and all the hype. so Ill probably pass. But thanks for the gesture Glen and I’m at least glad it worked for you.

      Reply

      • Glen Ramos
        Nov 15, 2010 @ 15:37:04

        I know, I dont like that stuff either, but his remedy is REALLY good and I know it works because I’m proof and there have been several people on the pilonidal.org forums claiming it worked for them too. It’s up to you though. Just trying to help.

    • Wesley F
      Dec 19, 2010 @ 14:39:37

      I have to agree with glenn on this one. i had my pilonidal cyst for a good 6 months and nothing worked on me. (tried turmeric, bananas, and honey) After trying Michael Lynch’s pilonidal treatment I was healed in one week complete. I cant recommend the guy more/

      Reply

  8. Curtis Finley
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 20:09:17

    Go ot the doctor and have them cut it out. It’s the only way.

    Reply

  9. Franky B
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 10:12:52

    I can remember a buddy of mine having one of these in highschool. He wass in so much pain back then and he missed a lot of school.

    Reply

  10. Pilonidal Butt
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 17:40:02

    YES! Do michael Lynch’s treatment. It works wonders. you can pretty much start immediately with the stuff in your kitchen. Your cyst will pop overnight and pus will come out. I started it yesterday and my cyst popped open this morning. btw, pilonidal cysts are the devils handiwork.

    Reply

  11. penelope
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 15:13:05

    I have one too. Does this lynch guys stuff really work. whats the website to go to. I cant take it anymore. how much is it?

    Reply

    • Jackie Jones
      Jan 12, 2012 @ 20:48:41

      Yes it does work http://pilonidalcystrelief.com

      (the link was post above just not clikable)

      i was serching for michael lynch reviews a few days ago because i was in bad pain from my pylonidal when I come upon this site. So i got his pilonidal treatment and it really does work. my cyst is down in size from before and only painful if i push down on it (like sitting).

      Today in only 3 days i can see much improvement. Need more time for full recovery

      I am 19 years old living in Pakistan and have no good option as doctors in my hometown only kno how to do incision drainaging wich i had 2 times with no luck.

      I like i can find everything i need here and not go far to obtain the medicines for treatment inside his book.

      Reply

  12. Crying4HELP
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 07:33:24

    I was going to buy Pilonidal Cyst Relief too after seeing it online, but i dont want to be scammed with some garbage info. the internet is full of people like him. Has anyone else tried his treatment? Joan have you tried it yet?

    Reply

    • Joan
      Dec 08, 2010 @ 15:57:47

      Nope, and for precisely the same reason you didnt. But, everyone seems to be on his side and says it works so I dont know any more. Maybe it does.

      Reply

  13. Jackie
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 11:49:57

    You will probably have to have surgery Joan. I mean, if Michael’s stuff really worked like everyone claims, then it would be all over the news dont you think?

    Reply

    • Harvey W
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 18:01:18

      Well, I can’t say for sure his stuff works cuz i never had a pilonidal cyst, but if it did work, doctors would WANT to keep it a secret. So would big pharama. These guys make their money off of these surgeries and treatments. If Michael’s treatmnet worked, you probably would NOT see it all over the news. Just my 2 cents!

      – Harvey Weinstein

      Reply

  14. Ehimay Bhagyamma
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 12:44:37

    pilonidal cyst relief does not work for me… sent him email today… waiting for reply….my cyst is hurting bad for 5 days withoutdryness….. in what way to try his method from homeopathy with sulphur compounds??….please suggest

    Ehimay Bhagyamma
    India

    Reply

  15. Ruben Desoto
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 18:07:08

    You will find many reviews about Michael lynch and his Pilonidal Cyst Relief book for those of you wondering or asking about him.

    Many reviews give high praises for his book. His product seems to work well for pilonidal cyst sufferers and he has a lot of positive feedback which influenced my buying decision.

    So I recently tried his treatment on a pilonidal cyst that is like the size of a softball… literally!

    His treatment is 3 demensional because he gives quick ways to heal the pain, a permenent remedy to cure the disease, and a 3 rd way to keep it away.

    I like his approach and so far things have been moving along smoothly. I was in intense pain when I started it 2 days ago and while I still feel some level of discomfort, it is light years better than 2 days ago that’s for sure.

    There is a white head growing rapidly on the surface of the cyst and im hoping it will burst open by tonite or tommorrow. that’s when the pain relief should set in and things start to get better.

    i will try to keep everyone posted with my results. Bookmarking this page now.

    Reply

  16. Ruben Desoto
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 14:56:08

    UPDATE:
    Its been over 3 weeks since my last post and i almost forgot to come bak. i just want to really quick say that his pilonidal treatment worked really well for me as i have been healed for a week now. im still taking the last doses of treatment, but im pretty much good to go now so if you want a remedy for your situation then try it for real– hes good.

    Reply

    • Joan
      Mar 05, 2011 @ 09:11:37

      CONGRATULATIONS RUBEN.

      Im glad that it worked for you too. Im happy to say that my last cyst wasnt so bad as it came and went in just a few days. but when it comes back i just might try it.

      Reply

  17. Rhonda
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 02:48:26

    My son had one about 10 years ago. You’re going to have it surgicaly removed I’m afraid. He had surgery on his and he has been fine ever since with no reoccurences at all.

    In the meantime try to apply a antibacterial cream to keep it from getting infected.

    I hope you get to feeling better soon Joan.

    Reply

  18. Nolan
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 15:55:23

    Hi Everyone.

    I’ve had my pilonidal cyst for almost a year now. I first noticed it in gym class. I have had mine lanced too, but only once. it has come back since and is coming back again. My older brother said he hadsomething similar but not quite as painful as mine. I am going to buy pilonidal cyst relief by michel linch and see what happens. i am in so much pain now. Wish me luck!

    Reply

    • long time sufferer
      Jun 24, 2012 @ 23:19:49

      So… What happened with the cyst Nolan? Did the remedy of the book work or is it a scam?

      Reply

  19. SEGA addict
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 10:57:33

    Don’t buy it. Save your money. It probably wont work anyway.

    Reply

  20. basil
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 15:33:27

    You would need to have surgery to have this properly managed. Until then, take pain medicines. Try sitting in warm water, a sitz bath, with water flowing between your butt-cheeks, for comfort.

    The surgery for this is done in a hospital. You would have general anesthesia. This is far better than what you are going through now. Tell your employer you have an illness and get this thing taken care of. By the way, after surgery, this is very slow healing.

    Reply

  21. ejo
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 01:45:14

    can yall just tell me what michael lynch is saying to do? i need mine to pop and i dont have money to buy his boook…and i am in sooo much pain :((((

    Reply

    • Hana
      Sep 24, 2013 @ 07:28:55

      THIS!!! I mean those people who claimed that it work for them, well why don’t ya’ll just simply spill it!? Geez made me thinking they’re just scamming around. Still if it’s true, PLEASE TELL THE METHOD!!!

      Reply

  22. sarah
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 04:13:32

    I am a female as well that gets it. Im 24 years old & i been getting it off an on since i was 20. It was my 20th birthday tha first time i got it, & yup 4 yrs later ive had it drained atleast 25-30 times maybe more. They also tell me i need tha surgery which i am highly considering cause i cant take this pain anymore. My tailbone has so much scar tissue its discusting. It hurts to sit, lay, even stand & walk. I jst want it gone FOREVER

    Reply

  23. Sabado
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 21:39:34

    My cyst has been bothering me a lot lately also, so I was looking up if there were any other remedies and came across this blog. The only thing that has gotten rid of the pain for me is to use a hand held shower head, with hot water and hold it on the main source of pain for as long as I can stand it. I swear it works and is gone the next day, but is painful…which is why I was looking for an alternative solution. I would say 15-20 mins of using the hot water does the trick. Also soaking in a really hot bath (as hot as you can stand it), with epsome salt helps too, but not as well as the hand held shower head. I wish you all pain relief!

    Reply

  24. Stephanie
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 01:55:33

    I have one right now as we speak, I have had this twice before n got it drained both times n I work 5 days a week n it hurts so bad Island what to do I soak when I get of work n put a heating pad on it please help

    Reply

  25. siva
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 11:58:01

    really this is working?
    http://pilonidalcystrelief.com/

    surgery or homeopathy witch one is the best in this case

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.